Tags

He may be in private school next year, but they are a new school and a lot is up in the air, so we don’t know for sure. If he stays home, I plan to mostly just read aloud to him. He does well with Developmental Math by George Saad, enjoys nature studies already, is working hard at learning his ukulele, so read-alouds and narration feels like all he needs, maybe with some gentle timeline and map work. Here’s what I hope to read.

I want the history and mythology he does to match what his brothers are looking at during this time.
Story of the World: Ancient Times by Susan Wise Bauer
The Jewish Children’s Bible: Genesis
The Jewish Children’s Bible: Exodus
Christian Stories by Anita Ganeri
Parables of Jesus by Tomie DePaola
Aesop illustrated by Don Daily
The Golden Goblet by Eloise McGraw
Steig’s A Gift from Zeus
Herodotus and the Road to History by Jeanne Bendick
Stories from the Stars: Greek Myths of the Zodiac by Juliet Sharman-Burke

There are a lot of short stories in the list above. I feel eager to get these in while he doesn’t yet feel they’re babyish. I’m focusing on Israel and Greece intentionally, since Rome is a bit grown-up for him and it just doesn’t feel like Egypt is that influential/important. It’s tricky to find books about India or China or even worse, ancient Africa or South America, so I am skipping those as well.

I’m hoping to build on the interest generated by our visit to the American Indian celebration recently to keep Terran learning about this stuff, and he is exactly the kind of kid who nature stories were written for, and Bruchac made this delightful book that meshes the two, so…

Christian Liberty Nature Reader 1 & 2
Flower Watching with Alice Eastwood by Michael Elson Ross
Keepers of the Earth by Joseph Bruchac
The First Americans by Joy Hakim

Because I don’t know how much longer he’ll let me read him fairy tales…
Seven Tales by Hans Christian Anderson illustrated by Maurice Sendak

And for a bit of geography…
Yeny and the Children for Peace by Michelle Mulder
Latino Read-Aloud Stories by Maite Suarez Rivas
Facing the Lion by Joseph Lekuton
African Myths by Bee Willey

‘Yeny’ is a narrative tale about a little Colombian kid who starts a peace movement. Terran’s become interested lately that his grandmother owns a farm in Colombia but his daddy won’t let him go visit there, and this touches down a bit on what my ex is afraid of. ‘Facing the Lion’ is about an adventurous childhood in Africa; I chose it because Terran has been asking a lot lately if we can go adventuring in Africa, pretending that whenever we are in the woods.

Plus some fun stuff. We’re reading through Pippi Longstocking right now. Some of the stuff I have thought to hit with him soon includes Mrs Piggle-Wiggle, Moomintrolls, Roald Dahl, and he asked for some Neil Gaiman after seeing Coraline. We might also do some Egyptian & Roman myths if he seems interested, or some historical fiction that takes place in Ancient India or Ancient China if some pops up and calls to us. 

It is a simple plan, just a booklist, but he is little and doesn’t need much. I stacked it all up in my room. (We had all these books already from when his brothers were littler.) Even if he does go to school this year, he and I can curl up on my bed to reconnect in the afternoons, and I will read aloud.

