Tags

, , ,

I’ve been trying to get the kids to finish up all the projects they have half-finished, so today Bear finished his potato clock (although he ended up using salt water in place of potatoes).

Terran set out to finish his brushbot. We lost one of the screws that came with the kit so he still isn’t done, though he was convinced to let it go with one googly eye missing.

“We can’t make it because we are missing one of the googly eyes.”
“We have plenty of googly eyes.”
“But not the same size.”
“Well, use one a different size.”
“But then the eyebrows it came with won’t fit.”
“Then make it one-eyed.”
“But…”
“No, listen! You can pretend it is a resistance member who got into a battle with an agent of the empire on its way to earth to deliver a super important message to you.”

Then Verdi went to do the rocket that his father gave him for his birthday, only to discover that it didn’t have a rocket inside it. Or instructions. His father shops likes to shop at yard sales. I had already bought rocket fuel, too, because his father hadn’t provided that either.

Bear started writing a new novel today too. He says the genre is science fantasy.

Terran and I are off to find a river, because I’ve got Kat Eggleston’s “Go to the water” stuck in my head. It always starts playing on my internal radio when stuff comes up with one particular unresolved issue in my life. “Where the sea is rough and the sun burns hotter, to know love, go to the water.” I know it’s probably metaphorical or something, but I can’t tell you how many problems I have solved by literally putting myself, or the problematic entities, in water. By that I mean like giving cranky toddlers a bubble bath, not sinking the bodies of my enemies in seaweed.  Somehow, at the bank of the Hudson, on the shores of the Atlantic, nothing is a big deal, all my preconcieved “shoulds” with their righteous justice disappear, and I can see the path of light and love clearly beckoning me. “It laughs and shouts where it touches land and it holds the world like a loving hand. It’s a bed of pearls on a moonlit night, full of life, no end in sight.” The novel I have in my head right now is a love story in which Eurynome and Thetys are re-imagined as seafaring lesbian refugees. Maybe I will take some time to outline it this weekend, even though I really should be making up a budgeting plan for figuring out how to afford all the math books the kids need next.

