Me: “I can’t shake this tired feeling.”
Bear: “When I’m tired, I think of frogs.”
Me: “Does that help?”
Bear: “No.”
Me: “Would you recommend it then?”
Bear: ” . . . Yeah.”

The first half of this week I spent alternately sleeping and figuring out why I felt like doing nothing but sleeping. Aside from freaking me out (pointing up that we need to get healthy NOW), it was a good time to be sleepy because I had no kids. The boys were off with their dad for Passover celebrations. They will trickle back home one at a time to attend extracurriculars this week. Bear is home now because he was feeling bullied by his dad’s girlfriend’s son, Verdi will come home for kayaking on Wednesday, and Terran will be back Friday for Little League try-outs.

I had intended to spend this week sorting out the question of why we aren’t getting the planned curriculum done. I will spare you my detailed mindmapping. I made a chart. So many bubbles! Maybe that will be another post. A large chunk of the answer that revealed itself when I started making that mindmap was that we are all eating lazy, gross foods, and we aren’t exercising very much at all. I’ve come to the conclusion that we need to get our heart rates up every day and eat more green leafies, more richly colored vegetables. I think we also need to eat fewer cruddy starches and fatty dairies. (We’re almost vegetarian now already.)

I may go on a vegetable-juice fast at some point in the near future. The idea of eating healthier is complicated for me fairly considerably by my need for sodium and caffeine. I have extremely low blood pressure. My standard, normal BP is just a few points above the bit neatly labeled, on the chart in my doctor’s office, “coma.” Often, after I eat, if I stand up suddenly, if I strain myself, my blood pressure will take a sudden nose dive and my vision dims and I can’t quite locate myself in relation to the walls and floor. I live with constant low-level nausea and clamminess. I have dreams at night in which magicians come and teach me how to stand up in such a way that I don’t get dizzy. I’d already begun using caffeine pills instead of sugary drinks in an effort to curb weight gain. Do I want to take salt pills too? How much will a healthier diet really help if I’m still fighting through the fatigue of my blood pressure sitting passively at 70 over 50?

So I have some details to work out, but in the mean time I am trying to replace some of the dairy and grains I eat with fruits, veggies, seeds, nuts, beans and lean meats. For breakfast I put tofu, blueberries, orange juice, and spinach in the blender and drank that down. For lunch I had peanut butter on celery and a handful of a trail mix that includes cranberries, almonds, raisins, sunflower kernels and pepitas. I am completely exhausted and it’s only 4 PM. I guess I should expect it to take more than one day.

I’m not sure how I’m going to approach getting the kids to eat healthier or exercise more. I’ll have to brainstorm with them about it. I do have some good ideas for how to salvage the rest of the school year using relaxed and project-based homeschooling while we focus on getting healthy, though. More on that soon…

